Skip to content

Wellness Advisory Council

Mission:

To facilitate action among faculty and staff to make healthier choices by establishing and maintaining a workplace that encourages environmental and social support for a healthy lifestyle

Function:

The  Employee Wellness Advisory Council of the University of Tennessee Knoxville (UTK) is a working group dedicated to building a culture of wellness for all employees of UTK. The Council consists of faculty and staff representatives across campus to advise and collaborate in identifying needs, shaping and promoting programs, as well as informing policy to meet the diverse needs of its faculty and staff.

Responsibilities:

  • Assist to sustain the vision and continue the work of the Healthier Tennessee initiative.
  • Identify existing resources and initiatives available for health and wellness for UTK faculty and staff.
  • Identify needs in regard to health and wellness of UTK faculty and staff.
  • Engage faculty and staff in discussion about employee health and wellness.
  • Advocate for institutional support for evidence-based programs and strategies to enhance the health and wellness of UTK faculty and staff.
  • Actively represent UTK faculty and staff within their respective areas with regard to issues relating to health and wellness.
  • Assist in identification and acquisition (when appropriate) of external funding and resources to support the employee wellness of UTK.
Laura Bryant, LMSW Director of Center for Health Education and Wellness lbryant7@utk.edu 
Gene Fitzhugh, PhD Associate Professor of Physical Activity Epidemiology fitzhugh@utk.edu
Hollie Raynor, PhD Associate Professor of Nutrition hraynor@utk.edu
Kathleen C. Brown, PhD, MPH Associate Professor and MPH Program Director kcbrown@utk.edu
Mary Lucal, PhD Associate Vice Chancelor of Human Resources mlucal@utk.edu
Rex Pringle, PhD Director of RecSports rpringl2@utk.edu
Victoria Niederhauser, DrPH, RN Dean of the College of Nursing vniederh@utk.edu
Coordinator, Be Well Program bewell@utk.edu

 

 

 

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.

Report an accessibility barrier.Privacy.